Aero Logo


The July 1922 issue of the Flight Magazine announced the formation of the Aero Golfing Society. The Headquarters were to be at the Royal Aero Club, 3 Clifford Street, London.
Membership (limited to 100) is open to officers and ex-officers of the R.N.A.S, R.F.C and R.A.F., and to gentlemen engaged in the Aircraft Industry; The annual subscription is 10s. The founding committee comprised:

Commander Wilfred Briggs RN


Wilfred Briggs was a member of the Royal Aero Club and, at the time of formation of the Aero GS, was 39 years of age. He had served as an Engineer Officer in the Navy and, during the War, was Assistant Superintendent for Engines in the Air Department of the Admiralty. After the War he held positions with Rolls-Royce Ltd and General Motors.

 Alexander James Andrew Wallace Barr

In 1911, at age 22, Alexander James Andrew Wallace Barr formed Cellon to manufacture the cellulose lacquers (dopes) that revolutionised the proofing and strengthening of the fabric of aeroplane wings and windscreens.

Captain Leslie V Pearkes

Leslie Pearkes was a Captain observer during WW1. He was a member of the Royal Aero Club and served on House Committee, He was awarded the Croix de Guerre, avec Palme in 1919.
Lieutenant Commander Percival Barry RNVR

Percival Barry was a member of the Royal Aero Club and Aero GS Captain in 1928
Lieutenant Colonel Whiston Alfred Bristow MIEE MIAE FRAeS

Colonel WA Bristow was an engineer of remarkable versatility and he is remembered as a pioneer in aviation. He began his connection with aviation in 1915 with a commission in the Royal Naval Air Service. He was responsible for testing, in actual flight, many of the early aero-engines. Subsequently he transferred to the R.F.C. and, rising to the rank of lieutenant-colonel, was in 1918 made chief engineer in the Field for the Army and Navy
Charles Richard Fairey MBE
(later Sir Charles Richard Fairey MBE FRAeS)

In 1913 Richard Fairey joined Short Brothers as chief engineer and in 1915, at age 28; he formed his own company, Fairey Aviation. His standing in the United Kingdom aircraft industry led to him to be the chairman of the Society of British Aircraft Constructors in 1922-1924 and president of the Royal Aeronautical Society in 1930-31 and 1932-33. In 1936, he was awarded the Sir Charles Wakefield Gold Medal by the RAeS; He was knighted in 1942 and awarded the Medal of Freedom by the USA government in 1948
 Paymaster Edward Bertram Parker RN

Edward Parker of Short Brothers was a founding member of the Society of Aircraft Constructors, a society which, from 1915, enabled the rapid design and development of aircraft.
 Lieutenant Colonel Francis Kennedy McClean AFC
(later Sir Francis McClean AFC DL)
Honorary Treasurer

During aviation’s pioneering years Francis McClean used his inherited wealth to help the famous Short Brothers Company to become established as one of Britain s greatest aircraft manufacturers and, in doing so, helped the Royal Navy’s first pilots into the air. He was said to be the father of British naval aviation. He began flying with Wilbur Wright in 1908 in Le Mans and was a long-standing member, Chairman and vice-President of the Royal Aero Club for whom he purchased the flying ground at Eastchurch. He was an instructor to the Royal Naval Air Service, awarded the AFC during WW1 and he was knighted in 1926.
Lieutenant Commander Harold Ernest Perrin CBE

Honorary Secretary

Harold Perrin was a British aviation pioneer and his role in aviation is legendary. He was the Secretary to the Royal Aero Club from 1903 to 1945 and, in this capacity, signed more than 20,000 private pilots' licences. He was Honorary Secretary to the Aero Golfing Society from 1922 to 1947 and his role in the decision to form the Aero GS cannot be over-emphasised. He was awarded the Commander of the Order of the British Empire in 1936