AG Cavalier


In Memory of

Presented by Mrs Alderson

Awarded to the winner of the pairs stableford
at the Early Spring meeting held
at Swinley Forest Golf Club

The Cavalier Trophy was presented in March 2009 at Swinley Forest by Mrs Alderson in memory of her late husband Captain Roly Alderson, a past member of the Aero GS. The trophy was Roly Alderson’s christening mug and its name commemorates an extraordinary event in his life, recorded in his flying log book as “Aircraft lost at sea” on 20 June 1939. When Captain of the Imperial Airways Short S23 flying boat, RMA Cavalier; the aircraft suffered engine failure en route from Bermuda to New York, and ditched at sea; the survivors were rescued after 14 hours by the ESSO tanker SS Baytown.


Current Holders – Richard Burman & Peter Kallos


2010 S WG Pettigrew & Sir Michael Alcock 2011 David A Hobart & Andrew D Sweetman
2012 Graham R Davey & Keith D Filbey 2013 Sir Peter Squire & Keith D Filbey
2014 David A Hobart & Brendan Breslin 2015 Brian A & Dick J Whittingham
2016 Keith Filbey & Ken McCann
2017 Stu McColl & Dick Whittingham
2018 Phill O'Dell & Dave Taylor 2019 Richard Burman & Peter Kallos