AG Ronnie Pew Trophy


The Ronnie pew Trophy

Presented by

Mrs Ann Pew


Awarded to the winners of the Pairs competition held at the West Country Guest Meeting held at
Burnham and Berrow Golf Club






Ronnie Ann


Ronnie Pew was our oldest and longest serving (52 years) member when he passed away in July 2016. He had been a member since 1964 and he achieved the distinction of becoming an Honorary Member in 1989. He played with the Aero GS until the age of 90, won the Brabazon Trophy in 1979 and won the Over 70s trophy in successive years from 2002 at the ages of 87 and 88. He played to his age at 74, 86 and 92.

His career in aviation spanned 48 years from 1937 and encompassed major British companies, such as, Armstrong Siddeley, Bristol Aeroplane Co, Lucas and Hawker Siddeley. He was a Chartered Engineer and a member of the Royal Aeronautical Society for 73 years, 25 of which as a Fellow.

He delighted with the opportunity to present a cup to the Society and was very much looking forward to presenting it to the inaugural winners at Burnham and Berrow. Sadly he died 3 weeks before the event but his wife of 59 years, Mrs Ann Pew, bravely attended and delightfully presented the trophy on his behalf.

 Current Holders – Tony Killick & David Backhouse

2016  Peter Bedford & Dick Whittingham       2017 Anthony King & Alastair Beedie       2018 David Backhouse & Richard Burman    
2019  Tony Killick & David Backhouse