AG Macpherson


donated by the

Aeroplane Magazine

Renamed in honour of

JC Macpherson

Awarded annually to the winner of the
Scratch Medal at the Summer meeting held
at Worplesdon or Denham Golf Club


The trophy, now named the Harry Vardon Trophy, was the original trophy awarded to the winner of the Scratch Medal up until 2001 when it elevated to the annual award for the best overall scores. In the late 1990's the President of the day, Johnny Waite, invited P J Macpherson (who had been an active member in the 50/60's) back to a Society event at Moor Park (which was then one of our standard venues), following which MacPherson was made one of the few Honorary Members at the time. It was then decided that the one remaining "Aeroplane" Trophy from a set of three obtained in the very early 90's through connections Jack Bryans had with the Aeroplane Magazine, should be used to create the MacPherson trophy for the best scratch score. Inexplicably, the trophy has not yet been engraved "MacPherson".


Current Holder – David Backhouse

2001 AJ Hay 2002 Bill E Morris 2003 Brian Walpole
2004 Mike H Shields 2005 Sir Roger Palin 2006 Brendan Breslin
2007 Brendan Breslin 2008 Sir Michael Alcock 2009 Jeff Turner
2010 Andy D Sweetman 2011 B Carter 2012 Brendan Breslin
2013 Jon VT Marks 2014 Jeff Turner 2015 David HW Backhouse
2016 David HW Backhouse  2017 Peter Bedford  2018  Frank Brownsdon
2019 David HW Backhouse